

# Licensing, Health and Safety and General Purposes Committee Wednesday, 22 May 2019

REPORT TITLE:	Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman
REPORT OF:	Director of Governance and Assurance

## **REPORT SUMMARY**

This report requests the Committee to give consideration to whether to recommend to the Council that the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman be conferred on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden.

## **RECOMMENDATION/S**

That the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

#### SUPPORTING INFORMATION

## 1.0 REASON/S FOR RECOMMENDATION/S

- 1.1 This report requests the Committee to give consideration to whether to recommend to the Council that the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman be conferred on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden.
- 1.2 The former Councillors are eligible to have the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman conferred upon them under the criteria used. The recommendation provides the Committee with the opportunity to give consideration to this and to put forward a subsequent proposal to the Council.

## 2.0 OTHER OPTIONS CONSIDERED

2.1 The alternative option is not to consider Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden for the position of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman.

#### 3.0 BACKGROUND INFORMATION

- 3.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the title of Honorary Alderman may be conferred by the Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service as past Members of the Council, (or a predecessor Council), but who are no longer Councillors. This was amended by Section 29(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 and Section 249(1) now states that a principal council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose with notice to object, confer the title of Honorary Aldermen or Honorary Alderwoman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then Members of the Council.
- 3.2 Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman are invited to attend Council meetings in a non-participating capacity. They do not receive any allowances or payments under section 173 to 176 of the Local Government Act 1972. Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman are also invited to attend and take part in civic ceremonies such as Civic Sundays and Remembrance Sundays and other appropriate civic events. The names of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman are inscribed on a Roll of Honour board on the first floor landing of Wallasey Town Hall.
- 3.3 Previously, the Council determined that former Members who have served twenty one years on the Council or a predecessor Council are eligible for nomination to this Award. Successful nominees have been awarded a suitable badge at a special ceremony.
- 3.4 Currently former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden are the only persons eligible to be appointed as an Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman.

#### **RON ABBEY**

Former Councillor Ron Abbey was a Member of the Council from 2 May 1996 to 6 May 2019 (23 years).

#### **PHIL DAVIES**

Former Councillor Phil Davies was a Member of the Council from 2 May 1991 to 6 May 2019 (28 years).

#### **GERRY ELLIS**

Former Councillor Gerry Ellis was a Member of the Council from 7 May 1998 to 6 May 2019 (21 years).

## **JOHN HALE**

Former Councillor John Hale was a Member of the Council from 1 May 1975 to 12 March 2018 (43 years).

#### **CHRIS MEADEN**

Former Councillor Chris Meaden was a Member of the Council from 2 May 1991 to 6 May 2019 (28 years).

#### 4.0 FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 It would be the intention to present Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Chris Meaden with a badge of office, the total cost of which is approximately £3,000. There will also be the small cost of inscribing their names on the Roll of Honour board which can be met from existing budgets.

## 5.0 LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

5.1 The formal decision to confer the status of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman must be ratified by an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council. It is proposed that the Extraordinary Meeting be held at 6.00pm on Monday, 24 June 2019.

## 6.0 RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS: ICT, STAFFING AND ASSETS

6.1 It is also customary for the Council to cover the cost of hospitality provided for the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen and a select number of guests. Arrangements for such an event, that could be held on the rise of an Extraordinary Council meeting on Monday, 24 June 2019, (convened to confer the status of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman), would be made in consultation with the Mayor. There is no specific budget head for this but the funding required can be allocated from the Civic Services catering budget.

## 7.0 RELEVANT RISKS

7.1 There are no risks associated with this report.

## 8.0 ENGAGEMENT/CONSULTATION

8.1 Political Group Leaders have been consulted on these proposals and are in favour of them.

## 9.0 EQUALITY IMPLICATIONS

9.1 Has the potential impact of your proposal(s) been reviewed with regard to equality?

**REPORT AUTHOR:** Shirley Hudspeth

No because there is no relevance to equality.

Committee and Civic Services Manager

Telephone (0151) 691 8559

Email shirleyhudspeth@wirral.gov.uk

APPENDICES None.