# COUNCIL

Monday, 13 May 2019

Present:	The Civic Mayor	(Councillor Geoffre	Watt) in the

Chair

Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor Tony Smith)

Councillors	T Anderson	K Greaney	C Muspratt
	B Berry	JE Green	Y Nolan

B Berry J Bird EA Grey T Norbury P Hackett C Povall C Blakeley A Brame P Hayes L Rennie H Cameron S Hayes J Robinson A Hodson K Cannon L Rowlands C Carubia K Hodson C Spriggs P Cleary S Spoor J Johnson W Clements P Stuart **AER Jones** M Collins C Jones M Sullivan S Jones T Usher

C Cooke A Corkhill T Jones J Walsh T Cottier M Jordan S Whittingham T Cox S Kelly **I Williams** G Davies B Kenny **KJ Williams** WJ Davies A Leech S Williams S Foulkes I Lewis J Williamson G Wood S Frost M McLaughlin A Gardner J McManus A Wright P Gilchrist D Mitchell

Apologies Councillor J Stapleton

## 1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Members of the Council were invited to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of such interest.

No such declarations were made.

#### 2 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor noted that apologies for absence were received from Councillor Jean Stapleton.

The Civic Mayor thanked all those who had supported him and the Mayoress throughout his year and in particular, those members of staff in the Civic Services office, Sue Carroll, Sonia Norman and Paul Stead and the other officers who acted as driver and attendant, Patrick, Tony, Sam and Bryn. The Civic Mayor also thanked his Cadet, James Scott Myers and made a presentation to him.

The Civic Mayor also referred to some of the highlights of the many and varied engagements he and the Mayoress had undertaken and the charities which money had been raised for.

### 3 ELECTION OF CIVIC MAYOR 2019/20

The Civic Mayor invited nominations for election of the Civic Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

On a motion moved by Councillor Pat Hackett, seconded by Councillor Phil Gilchrist and, in the absence of any other nominations, it was:

Resolved (unanimously) – That Councillor Tony Smith be elected Civic Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral for the 2019/20 municipal year.

Councillor Smith proceeded to make his declaration of acceptance of office and the retiring Civic Mayor, Councillor Watt vacated the Chair. Councillor Smith occupied the Chair.

The new Civic Mayor welcomed his guests and spoke to his election.

#### 4 DEPUTY CIVIC MAYOR 2019/20

The Civic Mayor invited nominations for the appointment of a Deputy Civic Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

On a motion moved by Councillor Pat Hackett, seconded by Councillor Ian Lewis, and in the absence of any other nominations, it was:

Resolved (unanimously) – That Councillor George Davies be appointed Deputy Civic Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral for the 2019/20 municipal year.

Councillor Davies proceeded to make his declaration of acceptance of office.