# COUNCIL

### Monday, 24 June 2019

<u>Present:</u> The Civic Mayor (Councillor Tony Smith) in the Chair Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor George Davies)

Councillors	G Watt	JE Green	M McLaughlin
	B Berry	EA Grey	J McManus
	C Blakeley	P Hackett	D Mitchell
	D Burgess-Joyce	P Hayes	C Povall
	P Cleary	S Hayes	L Rennie
	W Clements	A Hodson	L Rowlands
	M Collins	K Hodson	C Spriggs
	C Cooke	J Johnson	J Stapleton
	A Corkhill	AER Jones	P Stuart
	T Cottier	C Jones	M Sullivan
	T Cox	S Jones	S Whittingham
	WJ Davies	T Jones	I Williams
	S Foulkes	M Jordan	KJ Williams
	S Frost	S Kelly	S Williams
	A Gardner	B Kenny	J Williamson
	P Gilchrist	A Leech	G Wood
	K Greaney	I Lewis	A Wright

## 16 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Members of the Council were invited to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of such interest.

No such declarations were made.

#### 17 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor noted that apologies had been received from Councillors T Anderson, J Bird, A Brame, K Cannon, H Cameron, C Carubia, C Muspratt, Y Nolan, T Norbury, L Rennie, J Robinson, S Spoor, T Usher and J Walsh.

# 18 CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN / ALDERWOMAN

The Council considered the recommendations from the Licensing and General Purposes Committee held on 22 May 2019 (minute 6 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, David Elderton, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Christine Meaden, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Civic Mayor informed that the purpose of the meeting was purely to progress the business of conferment, and that a Civic Reception was being organised for the new Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman and their families and friends on the 24 July 2019 where the Political Group Leaders would pay tribute to the former Councillors.

The Civic Mayor reported that as set out in the agenda papers, Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended by Section 29(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009) stated that a principal council, by a resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting thereon, at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, may confer the title of Honorary Aldermen or Honorary Alderwoman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of that Council.

It was moved by Councillor Pat Hackett and seconded by Councillor Ian Lewis that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, David Elderton, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Christine Meaden in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972. It was,

Resolved (unanimously) - (52:0) (no abstentions) that the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman be conferred on former Councillors Ron Abbey, Phil Davies, David Elderton, Gerry Ellis, John Hale and Christine Meaden in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.