# Public Document Pack

## **LICENSING ACT 2003 COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, 25 May 2010

Present: Councillor S Taylor (Chair)

Councillors WJ Davies D Knowles

J Salter P Williams
H Smith E Boult
R Wilkins G Davies
S Niblock G Ellis
C Povall D McCubbin

#### 1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were asked to consider whether they had any personal or prejudicial interests in connection with any items on the agenda and, if so, to declare them and state what they were. No such declarations were made.

#### 2 MINUTES

The Committee was requested to receive the minutes of the meeting held on 9 November, 2009.

<u>Resolved</u> - That the minutes of the meeting held on 9 November, 2009 be approved as a correct record.

#### 3 **APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR**

The Director of Law, HR and Asset Management reported upon the need to appoint a Chair of the Licensing Act Committee 2003 for the municipal year 2010/2011.

It was moved by Councillor Don McCubbin and seconded by Councillor Gerry Ellis that Councillor Sue Taylor be appointed Chair of the Licensing Act 2003 Committee for the current municipal year.

The Director of Law, HR and Asset Management indicated that the Chair could only be appointed for this meeting, as the Chair for the Municipal Year would have to be ratified by full Council and this could be done at the next Council meeting on 12 July 2010.

The Committee's wishes were however noted that Councillor Sue Taylor be appointed as Chair for the current municipal year.

<u>Resolved</u> - That Councillor Sue Taylor be appointed Chair for this meeting of the Licensing Act 2003 Committee.

#### 4 APPOINTMENT OF THE LICENSING ACT 2003 SUB-COMMITTEES

The Director of Law, HR and Asset Management requested that the Committee appoint a Licensing Act 2003 Sub-Committee for 2010/11.

### Resolved -

(1) That each Licensing Act 2003 Sub-Committee meeting be comprised of three members and one reserve member to be drawn from the pool of fifteen Committee members as follows:

Councillors Sue Taylor, Eddie Boult, Gerry Ellis, Denis Knowles, Don McCubbin, Cherry Povall, Bill Davies, George Davies, Denise Roberts, John Salter, Harry Smith, Stuart Whittingham, Steve Niblock, Bob Wilkins and Pat Williams.

(2) That the Chairs of the Sub-Committees be appointed on the day of each meeting.

#### 5 ANY OTHER URGENT BUSINESS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR

The Head of Licensing notified Members of two training sessions to be held on 24 June in Manchester Town Hall and 13 July in Warrington Civic Centre. Details of these training sessions would be emailed to all Members of the Committee to enable officers to secure places for those who wished to attend.