Outside Body

Transport Committee of the Liverpool City Region Combined Authority


The Combined Authority has a number of committees. The Transport Committee called the “Merseytravel Committee” is responsible for overseeing Merseytravel, making recommendations on transport to the Combined Authority and taking any decisions on matters delegated to it by the Combined Authority.


The Merseytravel Committee comprises of 20 Members, each of whom must be an elected Councillor, elected to one of the six Constituent Councils of the Combined Authority area. The Constituent Councils appoint Members to the Transport Committee in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act 1985. These appointments are made in the following proportions:-


Knowsley Council - 2 Members

Liverpool City Council - 6 Members

St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council - 2 Members

Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council - 4 Members

Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council - 4 Members

Halton Borough Council - 2 Members


Further details about the Local Transport Body and the minutes of meetings can be accessed via this link

Contact information

Michelle Keating, Senior Democratic Services Officer
Merseytravel Committee of the Liverpool City Region Combined Authority

PO Box 1976
1 Mann Island
L3 2AN

Phone: 0151 330 1086

Fax: 0151 330 1234

Website: http://www.merseytravel.gov.uk/Pages/Welcome.aspx

Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council is not responsible for the content of any external link

Our representatives